BalkanCom 2025 - Empowering connections, enabling innovation

Eighth International Balkan Conference on Communications and Networking Piraeus, Greece, June 17-20, 2025



BalkanCom is a premier technical conference in communications and networking in the Balkan region. The goal of BalkanCom is to bring together researchers from academia, research labs and industry from all over the world to the geographical and historical region of the Balkans. With the theme Empowering connections, enabling innovation, BalkanCom 2025 highlights a momentous aspect of modern communications, continuing the best tradition of scientific conferences, while being completely not for profit. The eighth edition of the conference, sponsored by IEEE ComSoc, will take place on 17-20 June 2025 in Piraeus, Greece.







In addition to technical symposia and high-profile keynote speakers, BalkanCom 2025 extends an invitation for Special Sessions and Tutorials.

<u>Special Sessions</u> will provide an opportunity to focus on selected emerging topics under the conference's overarching topic of "Empowering connections, enabling innovation", and may include a mix of regular papers and short invited talks

<u>Tutorials</u> will focus on providing comprehensive overviews of the current state of the art in selected emerging topics in the form of a short (1.5 hour) or long (3 hour) tutorial.

We invite submissions of proposals for Special Sessions and Tutorials for BalkanCom 2025. Both Special Sessions and Tutorials should aim to complement the conference technical program with comprehensive overviews or in-depth insights into selected emerging topics highlighting research and development challenges in emerging Alpowered communication, information and networking technologies.

Submission Guidelines

Proposals for Special Sessions and Tutorials should be sent in the form of a one-page document outlining:

- Title of the Special Session/Tutorial
 - Organizers: name, affiliation, contact information, short biography
- For Special Sessions:
 - One-paragraph description of the Special Session
 - A tentative list of authors/papers
 - An indication if the Special Session intends to adopt the IEEE review procedure and include the papers in the IEEE Xplore*
- · For tutorials:
 - A short abstract describing technical content of the Tutorial
 - An indication of preferred tutorial length (short/long)

Proposals should be submitted by email to Special Sessions and Tutorial chairs:

Angelos Rouskas (arouskas@unipi.gr) Mihael Mohorcic (miha.Mohorcic@ijs.si) Dejan Vukobratovic (dejanv@uns.ac.rs) Dimitris N. Kallergis (d.kallergis@uniwa.gr)

Important Dates

Proposal submission deadline: February 24th, 2025 Notification of acceptance: March 10th, 2025

* Please note: If the Special Session would like to include the accepted papers in the IEEE Xplore, the IEEE review procedure must be adopted and the papers must meet the IEEE Xplore scope and quality requirements. BalkanCom reserves the right to exclude a paper from distribution after the conference, if the paper is not presented at the conference.

General chairs

Eirini Eleni Tsiropoulou, Arizona State University, USA Galia Marinova, Technical University of Sofia, Bulgaria Michael Devetsikiotis, University of New Mexico, USA Christos Douligeris, University of Piraeus, Greece

Technical Program Committee Chairs

Dimitrios Zorbas, Nazarbayev University, Kazakhstan Alexandros-Apostolos A. Boulogeorgos, University of Western Macedonia, Greece

Bujar Krasniqi, University of Pristina, Kosovo Tolga Girici, TOBB University, Ankara, Turkiye Eleni Stai, NTUA, Greece

Publications Chairs

Dimitris N. Kallergis, University of West Attica, Greece Dimitris Koutras, University of Piraeus, Greece Rania Garofalaki, University of West Attica, Greece

Publicity Chairs

Maria Diamanti, National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Stella Banou, New York University, USA

Dimitris Tyrovolas, Aristotle Univ. of Thessaloniki, Greece Unluturk Bige, Michigan State University, USA

Student Session Chairs

Gordana Gardasevic, University of Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Petros Nikopolitidis, AUTH, Greece

Panels Chairs

Wolfgang Gerstacker, Friedrich-Alexander University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany

Silvija Kokalj-Filipovic, Rowan University, USA Malamati Louta, University of Western Macedonia, Greece

Keynote Chairs

Symeon Papavasileiou, NTUA, Greece Thanasis Kanatas, University of Piraeus, Greece Liljana Gavrilovska, Ss Cyril and Methodius University in Skopje, North Macedonia

Special Sessions and Tutorials Chairs

Angelos Rouskas, University of Piraeus, Greece Mihael Mohorcic, Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia Dejan Vukobratovic, University of Novi Sad, Serbia Dimitris N. Kallergis, University of West Attica, Greece

Local Arrangements Chairs

Dimitrios Kotsifakos, University of West Attica, Greece

Finance Chairs

Theodoros Karvounidis, University of Piraeus, Greece Illir Capuni, University of Montenegro & Barleti University, Albania

Web Chairs

John Spyropoulos, University of Piraeus, Greece Konstantinos Zafeiris, University of Piraeus, Greece

Ahan Kak, Nokia Bell Labs, USA

Sponsors Chairs

Rania Garofalaki, University of West Attica, Greece Jennifer Simonjan, TII,UAE

Steering Committee

Ian F. Akyildiz, Truva Inc., USA

Ilir Capuni, University of Montenegro & Barleti University, Albania

Liljiana Gavrilovska, Ss Cyril and Methodius University, North Macedonia

Wolfgang Gerstacker, Friedrich-Alexander University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany

Özgür Gürbüz, Sabancı University, Türkiye

Mihael Mohorcic, Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia Enrico Natalizio, University of Lorraine, France -Technology Innovation Institute, UAE

Petar Popovski, Aalborg University, Denmark

Dejan Vukobratovic, University of Novi Sad, Serbia

Tony Ephremides, University of Maryland, USA George Giannakis, University of Minnesota, USA